Effective July 1, 2014, California’s minimum wage will increase to $9.00 per hour. Effective July 1, 2016, California’s minimum wage will increase to $10.00 per hour.
While public employers are exempt from many California Labor Codes, they must follow the Labor Code and Industrial Wage Orders with regard to minimum wage. Public employers should review employee salary information prior to July 1, 2014 to ensure that all employees receive at least these minimum wages. Failure to ensure that employees receive the minimum wage can result in back pay awards, as well as fines and/or penalties imposed by the California Labor Commissioner’s Department of Labor Standards Enforcement.
This information is not intended to substitute for legal advice. If you have specific questions regarding minimum wage requirements, please contact our office.
Kingsley Bogard LLP | 600 Coolidge Drive, Suite 160 | Folsom, CA 95630
(916) 932-2500 phone | (916) 932-2510 fax | firstname.lastname@example.org